soliireland.blogg.se

Garrard turntable
Garrard turntable









garrard turntable
  1. GARRARD TURNTABLE FULL
  2. GARRARD TURNTABLE SERIES

Coming from a person with long and varied experience with turntables of DD, belt and idler drive systems different well known tonearms at many price ranges :) A turntable that I look forward listening to dayly. Very engaging, dynamical and musical turntable without any mechanical trouble. Key is, to use a good plinth and clean and lube well and find a cartridge that speaks well with this geniously made tonearm. Using at the moment Shure M55e pickup with new needle. Tracks very well with no distortion/ sibilance and a low almost non excisting rumble. I own a well taken care of fully serviced Garrard Zero International (idler changer with multi voltage) installed in a large custom wood plinth.

GARRARD TURNTABLE FULL

Great tonearm concept and execution! Really nice for a bedroom system as the tonearm automatically picks up at the end and the thing turns off, so no worry about dozing off! Sounds a lot better than I expected after I did the full overhaul. I deducted one star only for the complexity of the assembly (compared with the L75) but when I finally manage to get a Linn tonearm for the Lenco I think there will be a fight for the podium! I have a 681EEE to fit if I choose to, but for right now I'm very happy with this deck. If you can find one in decent condition like mine, I'd say it's worth acquiring if your musical taste is varied from Bach to Bauhaus. I marvel at the tonearm and can attest that it tracks beautifully across the entire groove- no better test than piano or trumpet (classical) and is rock solid at 33 and the plinth allows no footfall problems that a Thorens has. Sonically, it made mincemeat of my TD165 with an M97XE just as it is as a barn find. But, out od a long retirement, I'm extremely impressed with the speed stability and classic idler wheel punch- even if only on an M55 with a stylus of unknown age. I've done my research and know I'll need to get in to the greasing, but that's no different than the Duals. This deck came to me via a 'free to you' site and hadn't been used in 20 years.

garrard turntable

GARRARD TURNTABLE SERIES

In my 50's now, I still have a Sony PS 3300, a pair of Thorens 160 series (one of each), a Lenco L75, and an armada of Duals including my (previously) favourite, a 1019.











Garrard turntable